Marketing Tip #10
Running a Google Ad campaign and understanding its importance will help your business flourish. Do you know what a Google ad is, or the types of ads you can publish using Google? What about how much you should spend on a Google ad campaign? Do you know what the purpose of a Google ad is? If not, keep reading. Google’s advertising platform is among the most powerful and effective in the world. You can place just about any type of ad on Google, and the platform is capable of reaching almost anywhere your targeted audience could be.
What is A Google Ad?
Google ads are the most common type of online advertising. They consist of short lines of text that appear on web pages. Google ads can be very simple or very complex. They can ask people to click on a link (to go read something on your website), call a phone number, fill out a form, make a purchase, or do almost anything else that makes the reader take an action. The copy in the ad should explain what the site is about and the services or products that you offer because it tells the reader why they should visit your site.
Types of Ads Google Will Let You Run
Google will allow you to publish an ad campaign in five different formats: Video ads (YouTube), text ads (search results), image ads (display on websites), app ads (Google Play), and shopping ads (product listing). While you have those five options to publish an ad through Google, the most popular forms of Google ads are text ads that are shown in search results, video ads that are shown on YouTube, and image ads that are shown on websites that meet the criteria for your targeted audience.
A video ad on YouTube is a great way to promote your brand and engage with your audience. However, creating a video ad can be a challenge, and testing and optimizing your video ads using Google Analytics will take patience but will be worth it once you learn how to use it to analyze the results of your campaign.
A Google search ad (also known as pay-per-click) can be a very useful tool for your business. It allows you to get your message out to people who are specifically searching for your product or service. This can be particularly useful when you are introducing a new product or service. However, you need to be careful, because running a PPC can be expensive if not optimized properly. Not only will you need to know what product or service you want to advertise or how you word it, but you will also need to know what keywords your targeted audience will be using to look for your product.
An image ad (known as a display ad) is an ad that Google will place on other websites based on the criteria you provide. Google will show your ad on relevant websites that have a high level of traffic and fit the targeting criteria that you have indicated to be shown to the audience you are wanting to see your ad.
The amazing thing about a Google Ad campaign is that it can produce all of these ads automatically from a single campaign. It's like a printing press that can produce thousands of different newspaper issues, and it doesn't even need to be fed the content directly. It uses the content that you have already produced which can make it easier (and quicker) to get your campaign published.
How Much Should You Spend on Google Ads?
This is a tricky question and one that we can’t really answer for you. While there is no magic formula that we have uncovered for spending your budget effectively, we can share a couple of things we’ve learned.
First, it’s important to be aware of how much you are paying for each new customer. You can do this by collecting data on how much the average cost per acquisition of a client or customer is. The cost per acquisition is the overall money you spend on a client, from advertising to overhead, divided by the number of new customers or clients you obtain from those efforts.
Google Ads gives you a wide variety of metrics to measure your campaign’s performance. But one of the most important metrics you need to pay attention to is your cost per click, which is the amount you pay Google every time a user clicks on your ad.
To calculate your cost per click, multiply your cost-per-click bid by your click-through rate (CTR) and divide it by your ad’s click-through rate (CTR). For example, if your bid is $2.50 and your ad’s CTR is 2 percent, your cost per click is 50 cents ($2.50 times 2% divided by 2%).
While we can't tell you exactly how much you should spend on an ad campaign, we can tell you that you should be spending money on ads, you should be measuring your results, and you should be optimizing your ads based on your data.
Quick Tip: Stay away from the generic terms that everyone is bidding for. You will pay more but may get less traffic. Instead, try using long-tail keywords.
What Is The Purpose of Google Ads?
From a business's point of view, the purpose of any ad campaign is what you want it to be. Whether it is to drive traffic to your website, generate more leads, or build brand awareness, any form of Google ads will help you achieve the goal you have set for yourself. From a consumer's point of view, the goal of Google ads is to provide users with the most relevant ads for their search.
If you are looking to grow your business quickly, then a Google ad campaign may end up being your best friend. Whether you are looking to start your first ad campaign, or optimize an existing campaign to maximize your results, HTX Marketing Group is here to help you. Schedule your introductory strategy call online by clicking the button below or call us at (713) 965-7370 to get started today!
Written by Adam Hundley
Published on September 4, 2021
Adam is the Founder of HTX Marketing Group. After realizing an unexpected passion of helping small businesses grow when growing the marketing department at a local law firm, he decided to turn his passion into a bigger project and founded HTX Marketing Group. He strongly believes in working in tandem with business owners and their staff to ensure that the businesses they worked hard to open sees the growth and success to keep them going.
HTX Marketing Group is not your normal Marketing Agency. We work with you to grow your business your way. Not growing fast enough? We can help. Growing at a steady rate, but want more results? We can help. Whether it is paid ads on social media or search engines, creating content for your website or social media channels, newsletters to keep your existing clients and customers front of mind, or coaching your team how to run your marketing department on autopilot, HTX Marketing Group will guide you.
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